Reviews



As good as ever - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to Ty Mawr. An enjoyable and relaxing start to a holiday trip around the west of Wales. The food and hospitality here is excellent with very comfortable and quiet bedrooms. Plenty of options for local walks too. Strongly recommended.

Reviewer:Stephen Jones | Sun 17th Sep 2017


Excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

A comfortable,warn and welcoming stay en route to Ireland with a fabulous dinner to make the stay even more memorable.

Reviewer:Victoria Deeley | Mon 11th Sep 2017


Just the Best! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Ty Mawr twice and, both times, have enjoyed the most comfortable, friendly and top quality stay.The welcome is warm, rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the food is excellent.It\'s difficult to choose from the dinner menu.Everything described sounds so good and you know it will all befreshly cooked local produce.The \'extras\' provided - the canapes, sorbet palate cleanser and the coffee and petit fours - are a particularly nice touch.And I could spend as long describing the deliciousness of the breakfasts as I can eating one!The dinner, bed & breakfast rate is, in my opinion, exceedingly good value.So don\'t prevaricate and compare other establishments - book a stay at Ty Mawr.I don\'t think you will be disappointed.

Reviewer:Barbara Worts | Fri 8th Sep 2017


Perfect hotel in every respect - Rating 5/5

From the moment we entered this venerable and immaculately restored and maintained old building we felt enveloped in a warm welcome. Complimentary tea and cake on the sunny terrace confirmed our first impression. This is truly a special place. The room, with its view of the garden, had everything we could ever need, most importantly of course a supremely comfortable bed. The ambiance throughout was one of sanctuary, surrounded by old stone and wood but enlivened by artistic and homely touches everywhere we looked. Dinner in the restaurant was substantial and sublime, all locally sourced produce and cooked to perfection. Not forgetting the human touch, Annabel was the perfect hostess, friendly, helpful and somehow always there at exactly the right moment. We shall definitely return.

Reviewer:Christopher Kendrick | Sun 3rd Sep 2017


Charming setting;perfect hosts working hard to offer every home comfort - Rating 5/5

After a long bank holiday drive we were welcomed by the owner of this quaint hotel.We ate beautiful, locally sourced and fresh food both days cooked to perfection at the hotel.The room was comfortable, peaceful with all mod cons with only the sound of water flowing in the stream at the bottom of the pretty garden where we enjoyed drinks on the terrace. I loved the attention to detail and promotion of local businesses both For the food served in the restaurant and local artists e.g. Paintings and pottery.We would thoroughly recommend this sweet little hotel to friends and family alike.

Reviewer:AMANDA LEWIS | Mon 28th Aug 2017


Beautiful setting for this lovely hotel. - Rating 5/5

First impressions certainly did not let us down. Very comfortable stay with excellent food, both breakfast and evening meal.

Reviewer:Jane Richards | Mon 28th Aug 2017


Perfect country hotel - Rating 5/5

This was my second time of staying at Ty Mawr and once again it was absolutely perfect! The hosts could not be more accommodating, the rooms are spotlessly clean and very very comfortable and the food is outstanding, certainly one of the nicest meals I\'ve eaten in a very long time. I would highly recommend Ty Mawr to anyone wanting to spend time in beautiful Carmarthenshire.

Reviewer:Rachel Bradbury | Thu 17th Aug 2017


Excellent. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic little hotel, amazing food, great service, outstanding value.

Reviewer:Jamie Maxted | Wed 16th Aug 2017


Fantastic Hotel. - Rating 5/5

TY Mawr is a Fantastic Hotel run by Annabele & Steve.My Wife and I recently stayed for three nights and found no negative points at all about this spacious quiet retreat.The rooms were clean, large and very well furnished.The food is top class with a varied and comprehensive menu and well presented.We were very well looked after and nothing seemed too much trouble to ensure our stay was enjoyable.We are both of the opinion that this must be one of the best Hotels in Carmarthen and will not hesitate to recommend this lovely place to our friends if visiting the area.

Reviewer:Geoff Pearce | Tue 1st Aug 2017


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Excellent room, fantastic food and warm welcome. Hotel in beautiful location.Will return.

Reviewer:DENIS GOODE | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

It was lovely to return once again to Ty Mawr. Beautiful large rooms with really nice attention to detail. The wonderful food, really good wine list. Breakfast gives a really good start to your day. Nice patio area to sit out with dogs on our return of an evening over a nice glass of wine. Dogs very impressed with their holiday and no extra to pay either. Many thanks to Annabelle and Steve for a wonderful long weekend.

Reviewer:Pat Griffiths | Tue 25th Jul 2017


treat yourself - Rating 5/5

lovely room. very comfortable bed. gorgeous food

Reviewer:mark kellaway | Mon 24th Jul 2017


Hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent food and great value for money

Reviewer:IAIN Pepper | Fri 21st Jul 2017


Fabulous place - Rating 5/5

Truly fabulous place to stay ー wonderful house (immaculately furnished and decorated), great service, great food. Just the right balance of relaxed country house feel with quietly efficient operation running in the background. Welcoming, friendly, not stuffy. We\'ll be back.

Reviewer:Anna Swinfield | Sat 15th Jul 2017


As good as ever - Rating 5/5

As usual a very pleasant stay, comfortable accomadation and excellent food. This was our thirteenth or fourteenth stay I think that says it all.

Reviewer:Mr. David Bayliss | Thu 29th Jun 2017


Dog Friendly- Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay in this gorgeous dog friendly hotel. We stayed in room 6 which issuperior king size so much room. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and the food is amazing. The chef should be congratulated. Extensive wine list. Would definitely stay again. I would add your dog would need to be very well behaved and not mind staying in the room while you eat. Great walks nearby. 5 star rating.

Reviewer:Mrs. Penelope Davies | Mon 12th Jun 2017


Superb - Rating 5/5

Our room was lovely, bed very comfortable. Food was superb. The view from our room into the garden was exceptional, saw birds I haven\'t seen before.

Reviewer:Mrs. ElaineWasher| Sun 4th Jun 2017


I had such a lovely, relaxing time - Rating 5/5

I have recently returned from a 2 night stay at Ty Mawr Country hotel with my 2 labradors.I loved every second.The food and service is outstanding, the room and hotel very clean. Cannot fault my stay.So good I am definitely returning!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma Halsey | Tue 30th May 2017


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent food, very relaxingand highly recommend stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marion Stark | Mon 29th May 2017


Little gem- Rating 5/5

Annabelle and Steve were fantastic hosts. The food was at a high standard that was paired with a decent wine list. The hotel is dog friendly and has a great outdoors space for them to run around while you sip Gin and tonics in the sun. Thank you both for a lovely stay.Mark & Amy

Reviewer:Mark Coomber | Mon 29th May 2017


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent food, very relaxingand highly recommend stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marion Stark | Mon 29th May 2017


Wonderful - Rating 4/5

Very friendly hotel, the food was lovely, everyone made us feel very welcome .Would stay there again if in the area.

Reviewer:Heather Bond | Sun 28th May 2017


Great break - Rating 5/5

Fantastic foodVery cleanFriendly staff

Reviewer:Peter Johnson | Sat 13th May 2017


Convenient for Carmarthen- Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and good food

Reviewer:Mr. DavidGale-Hasleham| Thu 4th May 2017


History, location, food, comfort, service .... - Rating 5/5

This lovely country house hotel (but set in the middle of a quiet village, with shop and pub) has it all.Such an interesting history.The location is fantastic - right in the middle of Brechfa Forest and surrounding valleys, but close to main roads, Carmarthen, Llandeilo etc.The food was amazing - would love to be able to eat here as a non-resident.Very comfortable room - and we are fussy about our bed!The level of service was perfect.We are fairly local and this was one night to celebrate a 50th birthday, but would definitely love to stay again (for the food!) and would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison Wade | Mon 1st May 2017


Magic, restful break. - Rating 5/5

We spent 4 nights at Ty Mawr. Our stay was wonderfully relaxing. The accommodation and friendly welcome was lovely. However the icing on the cake was the quality of the food. We will certainly return. The area is very pretty and with little traffic was very relaxing.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Marston | Sun 30th Apr 2017


Welsh Adventure - Rating 5/5

A gem as a find - no faults and all the benefits of a Boutique homely hotel. Super service and rooms and the breakfast and dinners superb . Annabelle a delightful hostess and our dog welcomed :)

Reviewer:Richard Berns | Mon 17th Apr 2017


Guaranteed excellence every time - Rating 5/5

Once discovered, you\'ll return time and again. Lovely rooms, super comfortable beds, gorgeous setting. The food is just brilliant. Annabel is an amazing host, helpful, attentive and genuine.

Reviewer:Mr. Noel Jenkins | Mon 10th Apr 2017


My only regret is that I couldn\'t stay longer! - Rating 5/5

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. They encourage guests to use the lounge which has large, comfy armchairs and sofas and a wood burning stove. I chose to eat at the hotel and it was a great decision - the price included canapes, sorbet, coffee and petit fours (£25 for 2 courses, £30 for 3 courses). I needed to check-out early as I was attending a business event and they opened the dining room at 7.30am to suit my schedule.

Reviewer:Elizabeth| Thu 6th Apr 2017


Ty Mawr - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, in a beautiful part of Carmarthenshire not well known to us. We stayed on a Sunday night. As far as I can tell were the only guests. The room was spacious, well equipped, huge bed, lovely bath. Food excellent, good wine menu. Breakfast lovely, good choice. Welcome warm but not suffocating. The place is well positioned for walks, cycling and trips to nearby Wrights food emporium, Llandeilo, National Botanical Gardens. We\'d both heartily recommend Ty Mawr.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan Stacey | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Back for more - Rating 5/5

Terrific food, hospitality and locationOpen log fires, good choice of wine and a changing menu.See you later in the year.

Reviewer:Dr. Anthony Turley | Sun 22nd Jan 2017


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Would recommend to anyone. lovely room, very clean, food first class, enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Ms. KayThomas | Tue 10th Jan 2017


Really enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Room 5 with lovely and spacious, food was excellent, and general hospitality was exceptional. Caring and thoughtful hosts. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan O\'grady | Tue 3rd Jan 2017


A short stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Ty Mawr for 2 nights, having booked a spontaneous trip to South Wales. The hotel was full of character (log-burning fires, beams, stone walls) and the staff were professional and very friendly. We ate in the restaurant twice and were very impressed with the quality of the food - local produce, freshly cooked, reasonably priced. Great breakfast, too! Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Alison Wheatley | Fri 30th Dec 2016


One night stay at Ty Mawr - Rating 5/5

we stayed one night ar Ty Mawr before going on to our son\'s house nearby. We have stayed before so we know Annabelle and Steve, and as usual they were lovely hosts, friendly but very efficient too. We had a lovely room, large and very comfortable, and our dinner was delicious;steak and duck breast, cold fish plate as a starter and panacotta after. Coulddn\'t fault anything.We had a great time & a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Whitley | Sat 24th Dec 2016


Great hotel and service - Rating 5/5

Had a really good overnight stay. Lovely large room, excellent food and super customer service, all greatly appreciated

Reviewer:Mrs. Marie Gilbert | Tue 15th Nov 2016


Delightful - Rating 5/5

Perfect place to relax, really superb food, incredibly comfortable room and welcoming, unfussy hospitality.

Reviewer:Mr. Noel Jenkins | Sat 29th Oct 2016


Great time, great food, great value, great experience - Rating 5/5

Was made to feel thoroughly welcome at the hotel, andthought the quality of food and accomodation was great value. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Hywel Gyles | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Another wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Totally lived up to our expectations following a fab stay a couple of years ago. Very friendly, very relaxed atmosphere and fab food. We\'d happily stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Madden | Wed 19th Oct 2016


Superb place - Rating 5/5

Hotel was clean and well furnished and maintained, room excellent.Evening meal was excellently prepared and presented, quality ingredients , beautifully cooked - healthy portions too. Annabel could not have been more helpful in providing for my young son\'s food choices. Really happy with our stay. Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:DChing | Wed 28th Sep 2016


Good find! - Rating 4/5

We have been wanting to visit Aberglasny for sometime, and decided to combine it with an evening meal.It was just that little too far to travel so we decided to take the dinner Bed and Breakfast option.Ty Mawr was the obvious choice.Room was very comfortable and clean, setting peaceful, and food, both dinner and breakfast, excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Noella Nicholas | Tue 27th Sep 2016


Ty Mawr excellence - Rating 5/5

Excellent relaxing retreat with quality ambience, facilities,food and service.

Reviewer:MALCOLM MORTIMER | Tue 20th Sep 2016


A highly recommended Welsh Rarebit - Rating 5/5

This classic country hotel lives up to, indeed exceeds, one\'s expectations for a \'Hotel of Distinction\' as promoted by the well known guide to the best of hotels in Wales. We can strongly recommend it for its location, the warm welcome, all the facilities, the overall ambienceand most especially for the excellent meals.

Reviewer:Dr. Michael Hayward | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Lovely find - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night on 4th September having not stayed before. Really warm welcome from Annabel and the ambience of the hotel is as if you are staying in someone\'s (very comfortable) home. Our room on the ground floor was enormous with excellent facilities and a comfy bed. The food was delicious and very good value. We are returning in a month for a repeat stay and think it would be a wonderful place to hole up for a winter weekend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Sutton | Wed 7th Sep 2016


Thank you - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful friendly hotel. We enjoyed our stay emensly, wonderful locally sourced food. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maggie Stitt | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Ty Mawr Country Hotel - Rating 5/5

A very pleasurable albeit short stay. Excellent accommodation in a peacefull, quiet setting was complimented with fine food and attentive but not intrusive staff. Looking forward to returning soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie Wheeler | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We spent a couple of days at Ty Mawr and wished we were staying longer. The area is beautiful and the hotel was a perfect match. There was a lovely warm welcome (including some delicious cake) on our arrival, our room was really spacious with a particularly comfy bed and breakfasts were delicious - with lots of local produce. There were nice touches such as a list of local walks, starting at the hotel, with printed maps and descriptions. It went too quickly.

Reviewer:Amanda Berry | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Spacious room;tranquil location and excellent meals.

Reviewer:Felicity Gray | Tue 23rd Aug 2016


Last minute decision - Rating 5/5

Well managed establishment. Excellent changing menu. Convenient location for Nat Trust and Gardens. Welcoming roomsWill definitely return in the future.

Reviewer:Dr. Anthony Turley | Mon 15th Aug 2016


Gorgeous Restful Retreat - Rating 5/5

I booked a couple of nights\' stay at Ty Mawr as a surprise getaway for my finance\'s 30th Birthday. We couldn\'t have been happier with our stay;from the warmth & professionalism of Annabel\'s hosting to the stunning room & Steve\'s exceptional cooking. Can\'t recommend Ty Mawr highly enough and we look forward to returning again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. James Watson | Thu 11th Aug 2016


Ty Mawr - Rating 4/5

An excellent place to stay ,welcoming ,quiet ,comfortable and delicious food . An added benefit was the location ,close to two noteworthy gardens - Aberglasney and the National Botanic Garden of Wales .

Reviewer:Vanessa Nolan | Wed 10th Aug 2016


Most comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

The weather was not that good (but do you go to Wales for sun?) but the warmth and superb hospitality of Annabel more than made up for it. This is a most characterful hotel with great food. Room 5 is of v generous size and comfort. As a bit of advice I suspect that second floor rooms might have better views so enquire.

Reviewer:Michael Pook | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Have stayed before, its a Perfect Hotel!! Very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are lovely and the food is terrific!!

Reviewer:Paul Bailey | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Brenchley - Rating 5/5

HiGreat service, room and food. Really helpful with muddy biking gear.Wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend

Reviewer:Mr. richard Brenchley | Sun 17th Jul 2016


Graduation- Rating 5/5

A perfect place to stay before our sons graduation ceremony. Friendly, welcoming and attentive we felt very well cared for. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the dinner was delicious. Thank you Ty Maur

Reviewer:Sarah Watkins | Sat 9th Jul 2016


A lucky last minute find - Rating 5/5

A lovely weekend stay in a large comfortable room , the food was excellent and the owners are very helpful . If we ever need to stay in the area again we will be back .

Reviewer:Mr. MartinBottomley| Tue 5th Jul 2016


Relaxed, high quality hotel - Rating 5/5

Another night at this fantastic country escape. The spacious, elegant rooms are just the tonic, with a sofisticated gin selection, and food of the highest quality, demonstrating creativity, utilising local produce. Handy for Aberglasney and National Botanic gardens.

Reviewer:Mr. CoombsGabriel| Sun 3rd Jul 2016


Annabel is the best - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Ty Mawr was beyond our expectations.Service was above and beyond and the food was the best we\'ve ever had.Locally produced and expertly prepared.Excellent by any standard and reasonably priced.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your kind words about Ty Mawr - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.I hope you had a good time during the rest of your stay in Wales and had a safe journey home.Best Wishes, Annabel

Reviewer:Mr. William Hughes | Fri 20th May 2016


Lovely place to stay a few days - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel in a very peaceful spot in beautiful countryside.Food excellent, staff really helpful and very professional.

Response

Thanks for your kind words.So pleased you enjoyed the peace and quiet in this lovely part of Wales.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carolyn Croft | Thu 19th May 2016


Wonderful food, wonderful welcome - Rating 5/5

Had three nights in most dismal weather, but were made so welcome and given such super food that the weekend was more than saved. I do recommend the dinner packages and the superb collection of gins with fever tree tonic. Wine list sensibly priced with a few gems in it. Menu changes daily, all local fresh food. Breakfasts good too.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Gardner | Thu 3rd Mar 2016


Beautiful stay and so well looked after!!- Rating 4/5

Just a few lines to say how lovely are stay was and how welcome we were made to feel!! Also the food was absolutely fantastic.. Will most definitely be staying again..

Reviewer:Alan O\\\'Dwyer | Sun 20th Dec 2015


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Quiet, lots of character, very good service thank you

Reviewer:Claire Currie | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


Faultless - Rating 5/5

As ever. Comfortable and comforting. Warm and welcoming. Spotless clean. Great food. Charming host.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Hall | Thu 19th Nov 2015


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a one night stay in this hidden away gem. Comfortable room very well equipped.Very good dinner, nothing fancy just good ingredients skilfully cooked. Great value for money and friendly welcoming staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. ian fraser | Mon 5th Oct 2015


A wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful two night stay at Ty Mawr.The hotel is is small and relatively informal but the acommodation and food were superb.Annabel, the face of the hotel, was charming.We never knowingly saw her partner but his presence was evident from the menu.We would thoroughly recommend Ty Mawr as a base to explore west Wales.

Reviewer:Mark Winston | Sun 20th Sep 2015


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with great food and wonderful ambience. Would recommend to anyone looking for a get away from it all night.

Reviewer:Alastair Chrystal | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Fine dining - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 2 nights. Warm welcome. Room spacious and comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed both evening meals especially the beef, crab cakes and the cauliflower and perl las soup. Good choice of wines and gin! Breakfast was equally good. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. David Fear | Wed 26th Aug 2015


biker break - Rating 5/5

Stayed here mid august for 2 nights as part of a bike tour of wales. Good location. The room was great. Food was excellent. Very clean. Would would stay here again. The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Stuart Alexander | Thu 13th Aug 2015


Still as good as it was!! - Rating 5/5

Second visit and still a lovely place to stay.Warm welcome,comfortable and very spacious room.Food including breakfast a real treat. Beautiful part of the world too!

Reviewer:Dr. DavidJohn | Wed 12th Aug 2015


Peaceful and welcoming hotel! - Rating 5/5

Ty-Mawr is a charming hotel full of history in a very quiet and beautiful setting. We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delicious meals with plenty of choice and vegetarian options.

Reviewer:Linda Graves | Mon 10th Aug 2015


Ty Mawr Country Hotel - Rating 5/5

A good welcome. Very comfortable accommodation in a traditional Welshvillage. A delicious breakfast. Will play croquet next time!

Reviewer:Sheila Hunt | Fri 7th Aug 2015


Secret Treasure- Rating 5/5

Tranquil relaxing and very welcoming stay at the Ty Mawr. Food was exceptional a real treasure. If travelling this way dont pass by a true gem.

Reviewer:Alison Reed | Sun 12th Jul 2015


Great service in a peaceful setting. - Rating 5/5

I recently stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting my friend nearby. It\'s the second time I\'ve stayed here and it is perfect for my requirements. Annabel and Steve offer great service and make me feel welcome without being too intrusive. The bedrooms are very comfortable and of course it is very quiet. In fact it would be a perfect spot for a very relaxing and comfortable break while also being quite easy to find. What I particularly like is that the hotel has comfortable places to sit away from the rooms so it feels more like a country house than a regular hotel. I enjoyed reading the paper in the sitting room after breakfast and sitting in the sun on the terrace in the afternoon. The hotel provided the prefect setting to entertain my friends. I believe Steve does the cooking and his meals are excellent. The breakfast is very substantial and the dinners are superb. I have no hesitation in saying I will be going back and I recommend it for a relaxing stay in a lovely country setting.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Billson | Thu 2nd Jul 2015


A stay at Ty Mawr - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our recent stay here. The room and the hotel was lovely. The meals were wonderful and the owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful. A perfect place to stay with the bonus of watching woodpeckers feeding in the garden at breakfast time.

Reviewer:Mr. Geoff Dendle | Fri 19th Jun 2015


Beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 2 nights for a weekend away. Such a gorgeous peaceful place with lovely owners. Really attentive, friendly and the food was AMAZING. Definately reccomend!

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachel Lewis | Tue 2nd Jun 2015


superb secluded break - Rating 5/5

could not have been happier with the service, the room, the food, the atmosphere.

Reviewer:Steve Cassidy | Tue 26th May 2015


Relaxing hideaway - Rating 5/5

Calm and ordered informality in a relaxing and interesting setting. Great attention to detail made for an impressive and thoroughly enjoyable stay. Very friendly hosts and fine food.

Reviewer:Geoff Marquis | Tue 12th May 2015


An Excellent Night\'s Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a marvellous stay, the hotel and food were excellent and the location, deep in the Cothi Valley is lovely. Our stay was enhanced by the warm sun, which enabled us to enjoy gins & tonic on the terrace;and what a selection of gin! We will be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Fortune | Mon 20th Apr 2015


Another Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Can\'t fault the Ty Mawr. The food is a special treat. The atmosphere is informal without being \"pubby\". Probably the best hotel of its type that I\'ve stayed.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Bell | Mon 20th Apr 2015


A wonderful break - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a delightful three nights at this lovely little hotel in a beautiful and unspoilt part of Wales.We received a warm welcome and enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing time in which we were able to appreciate fully the first class locally sourced food and the charming sunny garden.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Harrison | Fri 10th Apr 2015


Ty Mawr - Rating 5/5

This a hotel where you can relax in comfort and eat well.The owners should be proud of the product they produce

Reviewer:Helen Morgan | Sun 22nd Mar 2015


excellent as usual - Rating 5/5

delightful place to stay and superb food.

Reviewer:Mr. James Allsworth | Wed 18th Mar 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome as soon as we arrived.The room was immaculate, everything we needed, and lovely and warm! Breakfast was lovely, with superb service - a real personal touch. Would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Sarah Patteson | Tue 10th Mar 2015


Lovely time - Rating 5/5

We have thouroughly enjoyed our three day stay. The food was excellent as was the service. Our room was perfect for us and our dog, spacious well furnished and a very comfortable bed. Excellent value for money. We look forward to visiting again.

Reviewer:Wendy Jones | Wed 18th Feb 2015


Just Perfect - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a wonderful evening;the food was utterly gorgeous. Sadly the tractor was no good but we are just so pleased to have experienced your lovely hotel.

Reviewer:Jane Steer | Sun 15th Feb 2015


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend away in this relaxing and comfortable hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful hosts and the food was fabulous.Perfectly positioned for amazing country walks, cosy wood burning stoves and peaceful nights.Thank you for a fabulous time.

Reviewer:Mrs. CarolDrage | Mon 19th Jan 2015


Ty Mawr - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting close to lots of interesting sites.The food, company and hosts were outstanding and we will certainly be back

Reviewer:Dr. David Bruce | Thu 2nd Oct 2014


Short break - Rating 5/5

Friendly and welcoming.Quiet.Excellent breakfast and dinner.Good bed.

Reviewer:Peter Reed | Thu 25th Sep 2014


Wow - what a find!! - Rating 5/5

Well, what can I say.A most warm welcome when we arrived, lovely large room with large en suite complete with bath and shower. Very beautiful house and grounds. Food was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Perfect place to end our holiday. Will definitely be recommending and returning. Many thanks to Annabel for making us so welcome.

Reviewer:Julie Cowell | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent in every way, comfort, food, hospitalityand service.

Reviewer:William Moore | Mon 8th Sep 2014


Fantastic!! - Rating 5/5

I stay in hotels all over the UK 2-3 nights weekly and I can honestly say this is the best one of all!! A very warm welcome on arrival, the room was perfect and the food is second to none!! Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Paul Bailey | Sun 7th Sep 2014


'Ty Mawr Country Hotel' - Rating 5/5

I very much enjoyed my stay at Ty Mawr.The accommodation was excellent and the food was delicious and sourced locally.I found both the hotel, how it was furnished, set out etc, and the staff to be thoughtful and considerate of a visitor's requirements.

Reviewer:Mrs. Suzi O\'donnell | Tue 26th Aug 2014


Another visit to Ty Mawr- Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay, en route to Tenby.Dinner and breakfast were great, as was our room.Thank you - look forward to our next visit.Liz and Richard.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Judd | Sat 16th Aug 2014


great stay - Rating 5/5

good comfortable room, very clean,excellent good qualityfood great service

Reviewer:Mr. LeslieSimmons | Sun 10th Aug 2014


Perfect retreat - Rating 5/5

Beautiful tranquil setting, fabulously presented, everything about Ty Mawr was faultless.The room was spacious, light and airy, we'll appointed and spotlessly clean.Evening meal and breakfast were well prepared and presented using high quality local produce.Would happily stay here again, next time for more than just one night

Reviewer:Justin Moors | Sun 10th Aug 2014


Night sky wedding anniversary - Rating 5/5

Spent two wonderful days with outstanding hospitality and exquisite food. A rare gem in the heart of Wales. Diolch yn fawr!

Reviewer:Mrs. Victoria Grace | Sat 9th Aug 2014


An Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

The Hotel has lovely grounds, my room was spacious and extremely comfortable and the evening meal was exemplary. The Management and staff provided first class service in a lovely atmosphere.

Reviewer:Alan Taylor | Tue 5th Aug 2014


Ty mawr - Rating 5/5

Excellent food and comfortable accommodation . Great to be able to stay with our dogs in an environment where we could all relax.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jenny Harris | Wed 23rd Jul 2014


Gardeners World - Rating 5/5

We booked for one night to attend the Gardener's World Radio broacast at the Royal Botanical Gardens . The reception we received at the Ty Mawr was friendly and welcoming with cup of tea served on the terrace. Our room was large and spacious and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable. We ate in the homeland we were glad we did. The food was lovely and the service was "spot on". We had a beautifully cooked breakfast the following morning with plenty of choice.We were so glad we booked the Ty Mawr because it made a special weekend a thoroughly enjoyable experience. we would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Dickson-lane | Tue 15th Jul 2014


last minute business trip - Rating 5/5

I booked this last minute for business. What a result! Lovely place, lovely food, lovely welcome. Will be back with the wife.

Response

Look forward to seeing you again sometime when hopefully you shall be able to really relax as not on business.Thank you for taking the time to write.Annabel

Reviewer:Christopher Bruckshaw | Thu 26th Jun 2014


Holiday in Wales - Rating 5/5

Small country house hotel. Excellent in all respects. Welcoming. Friendly. Delicious food.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves.Annabel

Reviewer:Mr. John Simpson | Sun 22nd Jun 2014


10 day stay at Ty Mawr - Rating 5/5

My husband and I had an excellent 10 day stay at Ty Mawr.Our spacious bedroom was very comfortable with excellent wardrobe and drawer space and large arm chairs.The menu changed regularly, the food was beautifully cooked and served fresh and hot.Delightful hosts and ambience.

Response

Dear Mr and Mrs Bailey,I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We do work hard to keep the menu changing regularly - I hope you noticed you had a different type of potatoes each evening!Hopefully you can return sometime to visit all the other places you didn't get to.Best Wishes,Annabel

Reviewer:Jean Bailey | Mon 16th Jun 2014


Great for mountain b iking - Rating 5/5

Great location for riding the trails at Brechfa. Excellent food, great service, definitely recommended.

Reviewer:Sarah Bridge | Tue 3rd Jun 2014


Brechfa Gem - Rating 5/5

With mountain biking in the Brechfa forest on the doorstep we would have appreciated a place to secure the bikes overnight.Other than that, a fantastic hotel;really good food, thoughtfully prepared;exceptionally comfortable bed;attentive and efficient service.Would not hesitate to recommend it and will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Andy Pedder | Thu 22nd May 2014


Gracious - Rating 5/5

We received gracious hospitality through the excellent welcome, accommodation and food;all delivered with care and attention to detail.

Reviewer:Amanda Cuthbertson | Sat 26th Apr 2014


Peaceful stay - Rating 5/5

We were looking for a night away in a peaceful setting with a comfy bed, great service and great food which is exactly what we found at Ty Mawr.Dinner was fantastic and a must. Breakfast was equally delicious with wonderfully tasty fresh ingredients and homemade bread, yum.

Reviewer:Emma Langmaid | Sun 20th Apr 2014


Beyond the Black Mountain - Rating 4/5

The welcome and attention were excellent throughout our stay.The food is simple but stunning and freshly prepared from the very best of local ingredients.The bed was enormous! We shall return.

Reviewer:Dr. Malcolm Young | Sat 22nd Mar 2014


Great food - Rating 5/5

Nice place. GREAT FOOD.

Reviewer:Phillip Black | Sun 16th Mar 2014


An Oasis - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful stay we had! A lovely location, very friendly staff and a superb establishment. The food at dinner was outstanding using local produce too.

Reviewer:Robin Parkinson | Tue 11th Mar 2014


Our stay - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left (reluctantly) everything was fantastic. The entire hotel and grounds are amazing and the feel is relaxation and chill. We took our dog and we were made to feel welcome from the start. We are already planning our next visit. Very happy.

Reviewer:Mr. Frederick Oldenburg | Sat 8th Mar 2014


fantastic stay at Ty Mawr - Rating 5/5

fantastic stay at the Ty Mawr, loved the character of the place and it felt really homely and friendly. Food was exceptional!Cannot wait to return

Reviewer:Stephen Morgan | Wed 30th Oct 2013


To get away.... - Rating 5/5

Great place to get away and relax. The setting is peaceful and beautiful. The accommodation is so comfortable. The food and welcome is wonderful.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan Phillips | Sat 26th Oct 2013


Wales 2 Centre Break - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Ty Mawr for 2 nights to sample the Brechfa Forest mountain bike trails, before heading north to Coed y Brenin.When we 'rough it' on the bikes we like to sample a little luxury in the evening and the Ty Mawr certainly didn't disappoint. Very warm, welcoming and cosy with excellent food and home pressed fresh apple juice. Wish we'd seen more of Steve (the man behind the scenes who prepares the hearty dinners and breakfasts!)

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Pratt | Sun 20th Oct 2013


Faulous evening - Rating 5/5

Fab time spent here celebrating my mum 70th birthday with family. Food was delicious. Highly recommended..

Reviewer:Mr. TinaTrotman | Sun 29th Sep 2013


Charming country welcome - Rating 5/5

We arrived at Ty Mawr later than expected having rushed across the countryside in the dark.It's not easy to find in the dark but Annabel gave us precise directions and we thankfully arrived in time to enjoy a delicious dinner. The menu was interesting and the food very well cooked.The wine was also excellent. We were impressed by the list of local suppliers and actually met the egg supplier as we were checking out the next day.All in all a comfortable and welcoming hotel - the only criticism I have is that the pillows were a bit flat & past their best.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Street | Mon 23rd Sep 2013


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

a most enjoyable stay with attention to every detail from the initial welcome to the superb room with the range of toiletries and bath robes to the inclusion of delicious canapés prior to superbly cooked meals. We would definitely make a detour to stay at this lovely peaceful and tasteful hotel.

Reviewer:George Groves | Sun 22nd Sep 2013


Hotel - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant hotel in a peacefull area. Lovely food. Will stay again.

Reviewer:Stuart Rigby | Sat 21st Sep 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I am a man of few words... but our few hours experience at Ty Mawr made me eloquent! It was excellent, excellent, excellent!!! To be precise, excellent room done with taste and simplicity;excellent dinner with superlative taste in every respect (of course engaging with local produce, freshly sourced - but imaginatively put together) and excellent reception with a rather serious-appearing lady - but when she smiled! - 'Mein Gott in Himmel!' - the Heavens opened! You might think this review 'over the top' - but honestly, rarely do you find such integrity - and so my partner and I wholly endorse these statements.Thank you!Anthony (and Evelyn)

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Rooley | Fri 23rd Aug 2013


Recommended hotel - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at Ty Mawr on 9th and 10th August 2013.We received a warm welcome, were shown to a comfortable, large room and were offered afternoon tea and cake!Lovely garden and comfortable sitting rooms.Dining rooms were pleasant and the food was excellent.We would recommend this to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in a quiet location in beautiful countryside.We would definitely consider returning!

Response

Thank you for taking time to write a review.So glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again in the future.Best Wishes,Annabel

Reviewer:Mr. Syd Couch | Mon 12th Aug 2013


Time out - Rating 4/5

A very tranquil place set in beautiful countryside. The ambiance is gentle and charming, the food excellent and the room was spacious and very comfortable.

Response

So glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope you had a good visit to the National Botanic Gardens.Best Wishes,Annabel

Reviewer:Ms. Anni Dean | Tue 25th Jun 2013